Delaware Architect Licensing FAQ’s

How are the continuing education requirements for Delaware architects?

Architects in Delaware are required to complete a total of 24 hours each two-year licensing cycle. All hours must be in HSW subjects. At least 8 hours must be completed annually.

What is the deadline for architect continuing education in Delaware?

At least 8 hours of continuing education must be completed each year by December 31st.

When do I have to renew my Delaware architecture license?

Licenses must be renewed by January 31st of even numbered years.

Who notifies the state of Delaware of my architect continued education?

An architect shall complete and maintain forms as required by the Board certifying that the architect has completed the required Continuing Education Hours. Documentation of reported Continuing Education Hours shall be maintained by the architect for six years from the date of award.

Are AIA approved classes accepted?


I have extra Delaware architect continuing education hours, can I apply them to the next renewal cycle?

Continuing education hours are only valid for the calendar year the hours were completed. Excess hours will not be credited to a future calendar year.

Do I need to complete continuing education requirements for my AIA Membership?

Yes, as an Architect member of the American Institute of Architects (AIA), 18 learning unit hours are required per calendar year for membership renewal.  Of these 18 hours, at least 12 hours must be in subjects designated as Health, Safety, and Welfare (HSW).

Who do I contact with questions about my Delaware architect license?

Delaware Board of Architects

Cannon Building,
Suite 203
861 Silver Lake Blvd.
Dover, DE 19904

Phone: 302-744-4500
Fax: 302-739-2711


Delaware’s Architectural Legacies

On December 7, 1787, Delaware became the first State to ratify the U.S. Constitution. It's currently nicknamed "The First State".  The Delaware River and Bay were named after the governor of Virginia, Thomas West, Lord De La Warr by the explorer Samual Argall.  Delaware is also famous for a few of its oldest architectural landmarks. You'll find just a few of them in the images and descriptions below.  Although these buildings weren't designed by Architects as we know them today, they represent American architecture's early beginnings. Perhaps the buildings and structures you design today will become tomorrows architectural legacies.


Architects in Delaware are required to complete 12 hours of continuing education each calendar year by December 31'st.
They are required to renew their license by July 31 of odd years.  AIA members must complete 18 learning unit hours including 12 HSW hours annually.