Wyoming Architect License Renewal FAQ

How do I renew my Wyoming architect license?

  1. Complete 24-hours of continuing education
  2. Complete a Renewal Application and pay the $125 renewal fee

When does my Wyoming architect license expire?

December 31st two years after initial licensure is obtained.

What are the Wyoming Continuing Education Guideline Requirements?

  • 1st Time Renewals: Architects must renew their license the year after initial licensure. For example, an architect licensed in 2017 must renew by December 31st, 2018. After this, they start a two-year cycle. Continuing education is prorated based on the duration of licensure. The state will inform you of your first cycle requirements.
  • Subsequent Renewals: Architects must complete a minimum of 24 HSW continuing education hours by December 31st every two years.

Where do I find Wyoming approved architect continuing education?

Architects Training Institute offers online state & AIA-approved continuing education for license renewal. Take your courses in HD video or full narration from any internet capable device 24/7!

Do I need to complete continuing education requirements for my AIA membership?

Yes, as an Architect member of the American Institute of Architects (AIA), 18 learning unit hours are required per calendar-year for membership renewal.  Of these 18 hours, at least 12 hours must be in subjects designated as Health, Safety, and Welfare (HSW).

Are AIA approved classes accepted to renew my Wyoming architect license?


Who notifies Wyoming of my architect continuing education?

Architects must submit their own continuing education at the time of renewal. Architects Training Institute will provide printable certificates upon course completion and store your records for 6-years at no extra cost.

My Wyoming architect registration has lapsed, how do I reinstate it?

You may reinstate your license without retaking licensure exams if your license has been lapsed for less than 3-years by completing a Reissuance Application and paying a $375 late fee. After 3-years you must retake all exams.