South Dakota Architect FAQs

Answers to frequently asked questions about South Dakota architect licensing and continuing education.

South Dakota Architect Renewal

Renewal Deadline: Anniversary of licensure

Renewal Cycle: Every two years

State Required Continuing Education: 30 Hours including 20 hours in Technical Subjects & a maximum of 10 hours in professional development.

AIA Membership Continuing Education: 18 hrs annually, including 12 HSW

See South Dakota AIA Courses

Renewing Your License:

How do I renew my South Dakota architect license?

You may renew your license online or by mail.

What are the South Dakota continuing education requirements for architects?

You must complete 30 hours of continuing education including 20 hours in Technical Subjects & a maximum of 10-hours in professional development.

I have extra South Dakota architect continuing education hours, can I apply them to the next renewal cycle?

Yes, you may carry over up to 15 hours of continued education.

Who notifies South Dakota of my completed architect continuing education?

The licensee must notify the state at the time of renewal. Architects Training Institute provides printable certificates upon course completion. The Professional Development Hours (PDH) Log can be completed and submitted electronically or mailed in using the Adobe PDF format or can be completed electronically in Microsoft Excel format and emailed to the Board office.

Do I need to complete continuing education requirements for my AIA membership?

Yes, as an Architect member of the American Institute of Architects (AIA), 18 learning unit hours are required per calendar-year for membership renewal. Of these 18 hours, at least 12 hours must be in subjects designated as Health, Safety, and Welfare (HSW).

Are AIA approved classes accepted to renew my South Dakota architect license?


My South Dakota architect license lapsed–how do I reinstate it?

A person or business entity may reinstate an expired license or request inactive status within three years after a license’s date of expiration if the person or business entity is otherwise qualified. A person requesting reinstatement of an expired or inactive license shall complete the requirements for continuing professional development and any reexaminations and pay any penalty fees. If a person or business entity fails to reinstate an expired license or request inactive status within the three years after the date of expiration, all relevant files shall be destroyed. A person or business entity requesting licensure after three years shall submit an application for a new license.

Getting a License:

How do I obtain an South Dakota architect license?

You can become licensed through examination or reciprocity.

Does South Dakota offer architect reciprocity?

Yes, you must complete a comity/reciprocity application and apply to the board. Applications for reciprocity must be submitted as follows:

January 1 for January Board meeting
March 1 for March Board meeting
May 1 for May Board meeting
July 1 for July Board meeting
September 1 for September Board meeting
November 1 for November Board meeting

State Contact Info:

SD Board of Technical Professions
2525 W. Main St. Suite 211
Rapid City, SD 57702-2447
Phone: (605) 394-2510
Fax: (605) 394-2509

Once I order the course, how long before I can start?

You may begin immediately! Simply click the Login button in the upper right-hand corner on your desktop or in the upper-right menu on mobile. Once you’ve entered your login and password, you will be taken to your courses. Follow the instructions and enjoy!

Once I start an online course, will I be able to start and stop at anytime?

Our courses are available online 24/7 and you are able to log in and log out at any time during the course. If you are going to be away from your computer for more than 10-15 minutes, simply log out. When you log back in, you will be able to re-enter the lesson you were last in.

How long do your continuing education courses take to complete?

Continuing education requirements vary by state. Each course lists a minimum number of credit hours required to complete the course.

How long do I have access to the courses?

We allow up to 6 months for you to complete the courses. During the six months you have unlimited, 24/7 access. If you need additional time, please contact our offices to arrange an extension (please note: a fee may apply).

Are there tests or quizzes in the courses?

Some states do require quizzes, these will be found at the end of lessons. You cannot fail a quiz, though, as you may take it as many times as required to pass!

Once I complete a course, can I still go back and review the lessons?

You are able to review the lessons at any time during the six months you’ll have access to the courses.