New Jersey Architect FAQs
Answers to frequently asked questions about New Jersey architect licensing and continuing education.
New Jersey Architect Renewal
Renewal Deadline: July 31st of odd-numbered years
Renewal Cycle: Biennial
State Required Continuing Education: 24 hrs including 16 hrs in HSW subjects
AIA Membership Continuing Education: 18 hrs annually, including 12 HSW
Renewing Your License:
How do I renew my New Jersey architect license?
The Board will send a notice of renewal to each certificate holder at the address registered with the Board at least 60 days prior to the expiration of the certificate. All licenses issued by the Board shall be issued biennially. The expiration date for all licenses is July 31st of the odd-numbered year. A licensee who seeks renewal of the license shall submit a completed renewal application, a statement that the licensee has successfully completed the continuing education requirement and the $160 renewal fee, prior to the expiration date of the license.
What are the New Jersey continuing education requirements for architects?
New Jersey architects must complete a minimum of 24-hours of continuing education including 16 HSW hours by July 31st off odd-numbered years.
I have extra New Jersey architect continuing education hours, can I apply them to the next renewal cycle?
No, learning units must be completed in their respective cycle.
Who notifies New Jersey of my completed architect continuing education?
The state of New Jersey does not require the submission of continuing education unless you are audited. You must maintain your continuing education for at least four years to comply with an audit. Architects Training Institute will maintain your records for six years at no cost.
Do I need to complete continuing education requirements for my AIA membership?
Yes, as an Architect member of the American Institute of Architects (AIA), 18 learning unit hours are required per calendar-year for membership renewal. Of these 18 hours, at least 12 hours must be in subjects designated as Health, Safety, and Welfare (HSW).
Are AIA approved classes accepted to renew my New Jersey architect license?
My New Jersey architect registration has lapsed, how do I reinstate it?
- You must complete a Reinstatement Application
- Pay the $100 reinstatement fee and the $50 late fee
- Complete all the continuing education hours required for each biennial period of inactive licensure.
Getting a License:
How do I obtain a New Jersey architect license?
You may apply for licensure through examination or credentials. Click here for more information: https://www.njconsumeraffairs.gov/arch/Pages/applications.aspx
Does New Jersey offer architect reciprocity?
Yes, it is called Licensing by Credentials. Learn more here: https://www.njconsumeraffairs.gov/arch/Pages/applications.aspx
State Contact Info:
Department of Law & Public Safety Division of Consumer Affairs New Jersey State Board of Architects
124 Halsey Street
Newark, New Jersey 07102
Once I order the course, how long before I can start?
You may begin immediately! Simply click the Login button in the upper right-hand corner on your desktop or in the upper-right menu on mobile. Once you’ve entered your login and password, you will be taken to your courses. Follow the instructions and enjoy!
Once I start an online course, will I be able to start and stop at anytime?
Our courses are available online 24/7 and you are able to log in and log out at any time during the course. If you are going to be away from your computer for more than 10-15 minutes, simply log out. When you log back in, you will be able to re-enter the lesson you were last in.
How long do your continuing education courses take to complete?
Continuing education requirements vary by state. Each course lists a minimum number of credit hours required to complete the course.
How long do I have access to the courses?
We allow up to 6 months for you to complete the courses. During the six months you have unlimited, 24/7 access. If you need additional time, please contact our offices to arrange an extension (please note: a fee may apply).
Are there tests or quizzes in the courses?
Some states do require quizzes, these will be found at the end of lessons. You cannot fail a quiz, though, as you may take it as many times as required to pass!
Once I complete a course, can I still go back and review the lessons?
You are able to review the lessons at any time during the six months you’ll have access to the courses.