Missouri Architect FAQs
Answers to frequently asked questions about Missouri architect licensing and continuing education.
Missouri Architect Renewal
Renewal Deadline: December 31st, biennially, depending on original licensure date
State Required Continuing Education: 24 hours, including 16 in HSW subjects
AIA Membership Continuing Education: 18 hrs annually, including 12 HSW
Renewing Your License:
When does my Missouri architect license expire?
Missouri architect licenses expire every two years.
If you were originally licensed:
- in an even-numbered year, your license will expire on December 31st of even-numbered years.
- in an odd-numbered year, your license will expire on December 31st of odd-numbered years.
How do I renew my Missouri architect license?
- Complete the required continuing education
- Go online to complete your renewal and pay the required fees
What are the Missouri continuing education requirements for architects?
Missouri architects are required to complete 24 hours of continuing education each biennial period, a minimum of 16 CEUs must be in topics relating to Health, Safety & Welfare (HSW).
Architects licensed in Missouri for less than twelve months by the date of their first renewal do not need to complete continuing education hours.
I have extra Missouri architect continuing education hours, can I apply them to the next renewal cycle?
A maximum of 12 CEUs may be carried forward into the next cycle.
Who notifies Missouri of my completed architect continuing education?
Missouri architects must maintain continuing education records for 4 years. Architects Training Institute will submit your course completions to the AIA and maintain your records for 6 years at no extra charge.
Do I need to complete continuing education requirements for my AIA membership?
Yes, as an Architect member of the American Institute of Architects (AIA), 18 learning unit hours are required per calendar-year for membership renewal. Of these 18 hours, at least 12 hours must be in subjects designated as Health, Safety, and Welfare (HSW).
Are AIA approved classes accepted to renew my Missouri architect license?
My Missouri architect registration has lapsed, how do I reinstate it?
Licenses may be renewed late within three months of the renewal date without penalty. Licenses automatically become void three months after the expiration date. At the discretion of the board and upon payment of the required fees, practitioners may be re-licensed under the licensee’s original license number. Contact the board for more information.
State Contact Info:
Board for Architects, Professional Engineers, Professional Land Surveyors and Professional Landscape Architects
3605 Missouri Boulevard, Suite 380
Jefferson City, MO 65109
Phone: (573) 751-0047
Fax: (573) 751-8046
Once I order the course, how long before I can start?
You may begin immediately! Simply click the Login button in the upper right-hand corner on your desktop or in the upper-right menu on mobile. Once you’ve entered your login and password, you will be taken to your courses. Follow the instructions and enjoy!
Once I start an online course, will I be able to start and stop at anytime?
Our courses are available online 24/7 and you are able to log in and log out at any time during the course. If you are going to be away from your computer for more than 10-15 minutes, simply log out. When you log back in, you will be able to re-enter the lesson you were last in.
How long do your continuing education courses take to complete?
Continuing education requirements vary by state. Each course lists a minimum number of credit hours required to complete the course.
How long do I have access to the courses?
We allow up to 6 months for you to complete the courses. During the six months you have unlimited, 24/7 access. If you need additional time, please contact our offices to arrange an extension (please note: a fee may apply).
Are there tests or quizzes in the courses?
Some states do require quizzes, these will be found at the end of lessons. You cannot fail a quiz, though, as you may take it as many times as required to pass!
Once I complete a course, can I still go back and review the lessons?
You are able to review the lessons at any time during the six months you’ll have access to the courses.