Mississippi Architect and Landscape Architect FAQs
Answers to frequently asked questions about Mississippi architect licensing and continuing education.
Mississippi Architect Renewal
Continuing Education Deadline: December 31st annually
State Required Continuing Education: 12 hrs in HSW subjects
License Renewal Deadline: November 30th of odd-numbered years
AIA Membership Continuing Education: 18 hrs annually, including 12 HSW
Mississippi Landscape Architect Renewal
Continuing Education Deadline: December 31st of odd-numbered years
State Required Continuing Education: 24 hrs in HSW subjects
License Renewal Deadline: December 31st of odd-numbered years
Renewing Your License:
How do I renew my Mississippi architect license?
- A renewal form will be mailed prior to each November 30 deadline
- Complete the required continuing education
- Submit the renewal application and pay the applicable fees to the Board.
What are the Mississippi continuing education requirements for architects?
Mississippi architects are required to complete 12 hours of continuing education in HSW subjects each calendar year.
New licensees are exempted from continuing education requirements for their first renewal.
I have extra Mississippi architect continuing education hours, can I apply them to the next renewal cycle?
No, learning units must be completed in their respective cycle.
Who notifies Mississippi of my completed architect continuing education?
Architects in Mississippi are only required to submit documentation of continuing education activities in the event of a compliance audit. Licensees are required to maintain documentation for a period of 6 years following the cycle to which the credits were applied. Architects Training Institute will submit your course completions to the AIA and maintain your records for 6 years free of charge.
Do I need to complete continuing education requirements for my AIA membership?
Yes, as an Architect member of the American Institute of Architects (AIA), 18 learning unit hours are required per calendar-year for membership renewal. Of these 18 hours, at least 12 hours must be in subjects designated as Health, Safety, and Welfare (HSW).
Are AIA approved classes accepted to renew my Mississippi architect license?
My Mississippi architect registration has lapsed, how do I reinstate it?
It is unlawful to practice architecture in the state of Mississippi if a license has not been renewed prior to the November 30 deadline.
Licenses not renewed prior to the November 30 deadline may be late renewed within two years after the license expiration date by paying the monthly late penalty fee in addition to the biennial renewal fee.
Licenses not renewed within the two-year penalty period may not be renewed but may be reinstated at the discretion of the board. Reinstatement involves paying the applicable fees, submission of evidence of current qualifications, and certification of completion of the mandatory continuing education.
State Contact Info:
Renewing Your License:
How do I renew my Alabama landscape architect license?
- Complete 16 hours of continuing education by December 31st
- Renew your license online or by mail with the application for renewal sent by the board
What are the continuing education requirements to renew my Mississippi landscape architect license?
Landscape architects in Mississippi must complete 24 hours of continuing education every two years. No less than 16 credits must be in structured course work, which may include online courses. All topics must be health, safety & welfare (HSW) related.
I have extra Mississippi landscape architect continuing education credits, can I use them during my next licensing cycle?
Yes, a maximum of 6 CEUs from the previous reporting period will be permitted to carry-over.
Who submits my continuing education to Mississippi?
Landscape architects in Mississippi are required to submit an affidavit to the Board upon renewal of their license, stating that appropriate continuing education has been completed. Licensees shall maintain proof of adequate continuing education records for two years and be furnished to the Board in the event of a compliance audit. Architects Training Institute will submit your course completions to LA CES & maintain your records for 6 years free of charge.
Are LA CES approved courses accepted to renew my Mississippi landscape architect license?
Yes, LA CES must be utilized to locate courses.
Who submits my continuing education to LA CES?
We will submit to LA CES for you.
My Mississippi landscape architect license lapsed–how do I reinstate it?
Late fees will be assessed at a rate of $5 per month until June 1st of each even-numbered year. After June 1st, the license stands suspended and the individual must apply for reinstatement of an expired license.
Licensees who wish to have their license reinstated must apply to the Board by paying the reinstatement fee and providing:
- A list of work experience since the date the license officially lapsed
- An affidavit stating that the applicant has not practice landscape architecture or entered into a contract to perform landscape architectural services in Mississippi since the license lapsed
- A CLARB Council Certificate OR an examination record on file with the board verifying initial licensure by examination in Mississippi
- Certification of the completion of 24 hours of continuing education within a 24 month period immediately prior to the date on which application for reinstatement is made
State Contact Info:
Once I order the course, how long before I can start?
You may begin immediately! Simply click the Login button in the upper right-hand corner on your desktop or in the upper-right menu on mobile. Once you’ve entered your login and password, you will be taken to your courses. Follow the instructions and enjoy!
Once I start an online course, will I be able to start and stop at anytime?
Our courses are available online 24/7 and you are able to log in and log out at any time during the course. If you are going to be away from your computer for more than 10-15 minutes, simply log out. When you log back in, you will be able to re-enter the lesson you were last in.
How long do your continuing education courses take to complete?
Continuing education requirements vary by state. Each course lists a minimum number of credit hours required to complete the course.
How long do I have access to the courses?
We allow up to 6 months for you to complete the courses. During the six months you have unlimited, 24/7 access. If you need additional time, please contact our offices to arrange an extension (please note: a fee may apply).
Are there tests or quizzes in the courses?
Some states do require quizzes, these will be found at the end of lessons. You cannot fail a quiz, though, as you may take it as many times as required to pass!
Once I complete a course, can I still go back and review the lessons?
You are able to review the lessons at any time during the six months you’ll have access to the courses.