Kansas Architect and Landscape Architect FAQs

Answers to frequently asked questions about Kansas architect licensing and continuing education.

Kansas Architect Renewal

Renewal Deadline: June 30th, biennially

  • Last names A-L: even-numbered years
  • Last names M-Z: odd-numbered years

State Required Continuing Education: 30 hours, including 24 in HSW subjects

AIA Membership Continuing Education: 18 hrs annually, including 12 HSW

See Kansas AIA Courses

Kansas Landscape Architect Renewal

Renewal Deadline: June 30th, biennially

  • Last names A-L: even-numbered years
  • Last names M-Z: odd-numbered years

State Required Continuing Education: 30 hours, including 24 in HSW subjects

See Kansas LA CES Courses

Renewing Your License:

How do I renew my Kansas architect license?

Your license expiration date is based upon your last name.

  • Last names A-L: June 30th of even-numbered years
  • Last names M-Z: June 30th of odd-numbered years
  1. An Official Renewal Notice is mailed to the preferred mailing address within two weeks of the renewal portal opening
  2. Ensure you have completed all of your required continuing education
  3. Follow the instructions on the renewal notice to complete your renewal

What are the Kansas continuing education requirements for architects?

Architects in Kansas are required to complete 30 continuing education units (CEUs) each 24 month licensing cycle. Of these hours, 24 CEUs must be completed in Health, Safety & Wellness (HSW) subjects.

I have extra Kansas architect continuing education hours, can I apply them to the next renewal cycle?

Yes, up to 15 hours can carry over into the next renewal.

Who notifies Kansas of my completed architect continuing education?

It is the responsibility of the licensee to maintain records regarding continuing education activities. These records must be kept for a minimum of four years and supplied to the board in the event of an audit. Architects Training Institute will submit your course completions to the AIA & maintain your records for 6 years free of charge.

Do I need to complete continuing education requirements for my AIA membership?

Yes, as an Architect member of the American Institute of Architects (AIA), 18 learning unit hours are required per calendar-year for membership renewal. Of these 18 hours, at least 12 hours must be in subjects designated as Health, Safety, and Welfare (HSW).

Are AIA approved classes accepted to renew my Alabama architect license?

Yes.

My Alabama architect registration has lapsed, how do I reinstate it?

  1. Complete Alabama Application for Reinstatement
  2. Complete Reinstatement Affidavit
  3. Complete Continuing Education Report
  4. Sign a Citizenship Affidavit and submit acceptable documentation
  5. Provide a copy of your wallet card or a letter from your resident state which indicates good standing
  6. Provide a certified check made payable to Alabama Board of Architects in the amount of $460, which includes a $250 reinstatement application fee, $135 registration renewal fee, and $75 late penalty. Payment may be made via credit card by calling Board Staff

Further details and reinstatement forms may be found on the Alabama Board of Architects Website

State Contact Info:

Kansas State Board of Technical Professions
900 SW Jackson St, Suite 507
Topeka, KS 66612
Phone: (785) 296-3053
KSBTPadmin@KS.GOV
https://www.ksbtp.ks.gov/home

Renewing Your License:

How do I renew my Kansas landscape architect license?

Your license expiration date is based upon your last name.

  • Last names A-L: June 30th of even-numbered years
  • Last names M-Z: June 30th of odd-numbered years
  1. An Official Renewal Notice is mailed to the preferred mailing address within two weeks of the renewal portal opening
  2. Ensure you have completed all of your required continuing education
  3. Follow the instructions on the renewal notice to complete your renewal

What are the continuing education requirements to renew my Kansas landscape architect license?

Landscape architects in Kansas are required to complete 30 continuing education units (CEUs) each 24 month licensing cycle. Of these hours, 24 CEUs must be completed in Health, Safety & Wellness (HSW) subjects.

I have extra Kansas landscape architect continuing education credits, can I use them during my next licensing cycle?

Yes, up to 15 hours can carry over into the next renewal.

Who submits my continuing education to Kansas?

It is the responsibility of the licensee to maintain records regarding continuing education activities. These records must be kept for a minimum of four years and supplied to the board in the event of an audit. Architects Training Institute will submit your course completions to LA CES & maintain your records for 6 years free of charge.

Are LA CES approved courses accepted to renew my Kansas landscape architect license?

Yes

Who submits my continuing education to LA CES?

We will submit to LA CES for you.

My Kansas landscape architect license lapsed–how do I reinstate it?

Each renewal period allows 60 days to renew before license expiration and then an additional 60 day grace period before license cancellation. If a license cancels due to non-renewal during the renewal/grace period then the individual must apply for license reinstatement. You may not offer to practice with an expired or cancelled license.

State Contact Info:

Kansas State Board of Technical Professions
900 SW Jackson St, Suite 507
Topeka, KS 66612
Phone: (785) 296-3053
KSBTPadmin@KS.GOV
https://www.ksbtp.ks.gov/home

Once I order the course, how long before I can start?

You may begin immediately! Simply click the Login button in the upper right-hand corner on your desktop or in the upper-right menu on mobile. Once you’ve entered your login and password, you will be taken to your courses. Follow the instructions and enjoy!

Once I start an online course, will I be able to start and stop at anytime?

Our courses are available online 24/7 and you are able to log in and log out at any time during the course. If you are going to be away from your computer for more than 10-15 minutes, simply log out. When you log back in, you will be able to re-enter the lesson you were last in.

How long do your continuing education courses take to complete?

Continuing education requirements vary by state. Each course lists a minimum number of credit hours required to complete the course.

How long do I have access to the courses?

We allow up to 6 months for you to complete the courses. During the six months you have unlimited, 24/7 access. If you need additional time, please contact our offices to arrange an extension (please note: a fee may apply).

Are there tests or quizzes in the courses?

Some states do require quizzes, these will be found at the end of lessons. You cannot fail a quiz, though, as you may take it as many times as required to pass!

Once I complete a course, can I still go back and review the lessons?

You are able to review the lessons at any time during the six months you’ll have access to the courses.

Scroll Up