Arkansas Architect and Landscape Architect FAQs

Answers to frequently asked questions about Arkansas architect licensing and continuing education

Arkansas Architect Renewal

License Renewal Deadline: July 31st annually

Continuing Education Deadline: December 31st annually

State Required Continuing Education: 12 hrs in HSW subjects

AIA Membership Continuing Education: 18 hrs annually, including 12 HSW

See Arkansas AIA Courses

Arkansas Landscape Architect Renewal

License Renewal Deadline: January 31st annually

Continuing Education Deadline: December 31st annually

State Required Continuing Education: 12 hrs in HSW subjects

See Arkansas LA CES Courses

Renewing Your License:

How do I renew my Arkansas architect license?

Licensure renewal notices will be sent to the e-mail address on file with the board office in July. This notice will provide links to both the paper renewal application and online renewal system.

What are the Arkansas continuing education requirements for architects?

Arkansas registered architects must complete a minimum of 12 continuing education hours each calendar year by December 31st. A continuing education hour (CEH) must consist of 50-60 minutes of instructional time and must cover HSW subjects.

I have extra Arkansas architect continuing education hours, can I apply them to the next renewal cycle?

No carryover of continuing education hours from the previous calendar year is permitted.

Who notifies Arkansas of my completed architect continuing education?

Submission of completed CEHs with renewal is not required. Each registrant is responsible for maintaining a list of their CE activities. All records of attendance and completion of CE should be maintained for six years for audit purposes. Architects Training Institute will maintain your records for 6 years at no extra charge.

Do I need to complete continuing education requirements for my AIA membership?

Yes, as an Architect member of the American Institute of Architects (AIA), 18 learning unit hours are required per calendar-year for membership renewal. Of these 18 hours, at least 12 hours must be in subjects designated as Health, Safety, and Welfare (HSW).

Are AIA approved classes accepted to renew my Arkansas architect license?

Yes.

My Arkansas architect registration has lapsed, how do I reinstate it?

  1. An individual whose license has lapsed for any reason may be reinstated at any time within three (3) years from the date of cancellation of the registration.
    1. Prior to reinstatement, the individual must demonstrate compliance with the Act and the current Rules and Regulations. 
    2. The applicant must pay all fees that have accrued since the time of cancellation as well as the amount of penalties due.
  2. Registrants who hold an NCARB certification and have allowed their registrations to lapse for a period of three (3) or more years must reapply through reciprocity. 
  3. Registrants without NCARB certification and who were initially registered in Arkansas may re-apply without retaking the ARE®. 
  4. The board may reissue a certificate of registration to any person whose certificate has lapsed or has been suspended or revoked, provided there are no pending charges of violations of this Act. 

Getting a License:

How do I obtain an Arkansas architect license?

To be granted initial registration, an applicant must meet the following requirements.

  1.  An applicant must be of good moral character, as verified by employers and other references. 
  2. An applicant must hold a professional degree in architecture from a degree program accredited by the NAAB or otherwise satisfy the education requirements established from time to time by NCARB for certification by NCARB. 
  3. An applicant must have completed the IDP requirements in accordance with current NCARB standards. 
  4. An applicant must have passed the ARE® in accordance with current NCARB standards. 
  5. An applicant must complete an affidavit supplied by the board attesting that he or she has read and understood the Arkansas Architectural Act and Rules and Regulations.

Does Arkansas offer architect reciprocity?

An applicant who holds a current and valid certification issued by NCARB and who submits satisfactory evidence of such certification to the board can be registered, provided the applicant meets the following requirements.

  1. The applicant holds a valid registration as an architect issued by a registration authority recognized by NCARB and submits satisfactory evidence of such registration to the board. 
  2. An applicant files his or her application in a form prescribed by the board and pays the applicable fees established by the board. 
  3. Before registration, the board may, at its discretion, require individual applicants to appear before the board when an NCARB record does not clearly indicate that the applicant is qualified for registration in Arkansas.

State Contact Info:

Arkansas Board of Architects, Landscape Architects & Interior Designers
900 W. Capitol Ave,
Little Rock, AR 72201-3108
Phone: (501) 682-3171
Fax: (501) 682-3172
asbalaid@arkansas.gov
https://www.asbalaid.arkansas.gov/

Renewing Your License:

How do I renew my Arkansas landscape architect license?

Licensure renewal notices will be sent to the e-mail address on file with the board office on January 1st. This notice will provide links to both the paper renewal application and online renewal system.

Renewals must be received by the board or postmarked by January 31st; otherwise registrations will become invalid on Feb 1.

What are the Arkansas continuing education requirements for landscape architects?

Arkansas registered landscape architects must complete a minimum of 12 continuing education hours each calendar year by December 31st. A continuing education hour (CEH) must consist of 50-60 minutes of instructional time and must cover HSW subjects.

I have extra Arkansas landscape architect continuing education hours, can I apply them to the next renewal cycle?

No carryover of continuing education hours from the previous calendar year is permitted.

Who notifies Arkansas of my completed landscape architect continuing education?

Submission of completed CEHs with renewal is not required. Each registrant is responsible for maintaining a list of their CE activities. All records of attendance and completion of CE should be maintained for six years for audit purposes. Architects Training Institute will maintain your records for 6 years at no extra charge.

Are LA CES approved classes accepted to renew my Arkansas landscape architect license?

Yes.

My Arkansas landscape architect registration has lapsed, how do I reinstate it?

  1. An individual whose license has lapsed for any reason may be reinstated at any time within three (3) years from the date of cancellation of the registration.  
    1. Before reinstatement, the individual must demonstrate compliance with the Act and with the current Rules and Regulations. 
    2. The applicant must pay all fees that have accrued since the time of cancellation as well as the amount of penalties due.
  2. Registrants who hold a CLARB certification and have allowed their registrations to lapse for a period of three (3) or more years must reapply through reciprocity. 
  3. The board may reissue a certificate of registration to any person whose certificate has lapsed or has been suspended or revoked, provided that there are no pending charges of violations of Arkansas law.

Getting a License:

How do I obtain an Arkansas landscape architect license?

To be granted initial registration, an applicant must meet the following requirements:

  1. An applicant must be of good moral character, as verified by employers and other references;
  2. An applicant must hold a professional degree in landscape architecture from a degree program accredited by the Landscape Architectural Accreditation Board (LAAB), a degree in a field related to landscape architecture as determined by the Arkansas State Board of Architects, Landscape Architects, and Interior Designers (ASBALAID), or else seven (7) years of experience in landscape architecture satisfactory to the board;
  3. An applicant must have completed the minimum experience requirements as determined by the completed degree program;
  4. An applicant must have passed the Landscape Architect Registration Exam (LARE) in accordance with current Council of Landscape Architectural Registration Boards (CLARB) standards;
  5. An applicant must complete an affidavit supplied by the board attesting that he or she has read and understood the Landscape Architectural Practice Act and Rules and Regulations.

Does Arkansas offer architect reciprocity?

An applicant who holds a current and valid record issued by CLARB and submits satisfactory evidence of such record to the board can be registered, provided the applicant meets the following requirements.

  1. An applicant must be of good moral character, as verified by employers and other references.
  2. An applicant must hold a professional degree in landscape architecture from a degree program that has been accredited by LAAB.
  3. An applicant must have passed the LARE in accordance with current CLARB standards.
  4. An applicant must complete an affidavit supplied by the board attesting that he or she has read and understood the Arkansas Landscape Architectural Practice Act and Rules and Regulations.
  5. The applicant holds a valid registration as a landscape architect issued by a registration authority of the United States and submits satisfactory evidence of such registration to the board.
  6. An applicant files his or her application in a form prescribed by the board and pays the applicable board-established fees.
  7. Before registration, the board may, at its discretion, require individual applicants to appear before the board when a CLARB record does not clearly indicate that the applicant is qualified for registration in Arkansas.

State Contact Info:

Arkansas Board of Architects, Landscape Architects & Interior Designers
900 W. Capitol Ave,
Little Rock, AR 72201-3108
Phone: (501) 682-3171
Fax: (501) 682-3172
asbalaid@arkansas.gov
https://www.asbalaid.arkansas.gov/

Once I order the course, how long before I can start?

You may begin immediately! Simply click the Login button in the upper right-hand corner on your desktop or in the upper-right menu on mobile. Once you’ve entered your login and password, you will be taken to your courses. Follow the instructions and enjoy!

Once I start an online course, will I be able to start and stop at anytime?

Our courses are available online 24/7 and you are able to log in and log out at any time during the course. If you are going to be away from your computer for more than 10-15 minutes, simply log out. When you log back in, you will be able to re-enter the lesson you were last in.

How long do your continuing education courses take to complete?

Continuing education requirements vary by state. Each course lists a minimum number of credit hours required to complete the course.

How long do I have access to the courses?

We allow up to 6 months for you to complete the courses. During the six months you have unlimited, 24/7 access. If you need additional time, please contact our offices to arrange an extension (please note: a fee may apply).

Are there tests or quizzes in the courses?

Some states do require quizzes, these will be found at the end of lessons. You cannot fail a quiz, though, as you may take it as many times as required to pass!

Once I complete a course, can I still go back and review the lessons?

You are able to review the lessons at any time during the six months you’ll have access to the courses.

Scroll Up