Total State Hours: 24-Hours including 22-Hours of HSW and 2-Hours of Advanced Florida Building Code
Total AIA Membership Hours: 18 Annually, including 12 HSW
CE Deadline: December 31st of Even Years
Renewal Deadline: February 28th of Odd Years
What are the Florida Continuing Education Guideline Requirements?
Each Florida registered architect must complete a minimum of 24 continuing education hours including 22 Hours of HSW and 2 Hours of Advanced Florida Building Code.
Do I need to complete continuing education requirements for my AIA membership?
Yes, as an Architect member of the American Institute of Architects (AIA), 18 learning unit hours are required per calendar-year for membership renewal. Of these 18 hours, at least 12 hours must be in subjects designated as Health, Safety, and Welfare (HSW).
Are AIA approved classes accepted to renew my Florida architect license?
I have extra Florida architect continuing education hours, can I apply them to the next renewal cycle?
No, learning units must be completed in their respective cycle.
Who notifies Florida of my architect continuing education?
The licensee is responsible for retaining proof of participation in continuing education activities. When an architect renews February 28, odd-numbered years, he/she will attest to completing 24 hours for the previous two calendar years, for a total of 24 CEHs upon renewal.
Note: When an architect renews their license for the February 28, 2017, deadline, he/she will attest to completing 24 continuing education hours from March 1, 2015, through December 31, 2016. After the 2017 renewal deadline, architects will have two calendar years to complete their renewal requirements each biennium (January 1, 2016-December 31, 2017).
If you are selected by the department for the monitoring of compliance with continuing education requirements you will be required to produce documentation.
If you are an out of state licensee, you will also be required to submit a copy of your resident state statutes and rules as they pertain to continuing education.
How do I obtain a Florida architect license?
Follow the steps laid out on the Florida License Page.
Does Florida offer architect reciprocity?
My Florida architect registration has lapsed, how do I reinstate it?
- Complete a Florida application form
- Complete 24-Hours of Continuing Education
- Pay the $150 reinstatement fee
Division of Professions Board of Architecture and Interior Design
1940 North Monroe Street
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0783
Website address: http://www.myfloridalicense.com/DBPR/architecture-and-interior-design/